MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#45
Matt Moore
ERA W-L K
3.95 8-10 138
Team: San FranciscoHt / Wt: 6-3 / 210 NFBC ADP: 236.76
Position: SPBorn: 6/18/1989 Birthplace: Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 8th Round by Devil Rays (2007)


Latest News
Aug. 25 12:07 PM PT1:07 PM MT2:07 PM CT3:07 PM ET15:07 ET19:07 GMT3:07 12:07 PM MST2:07 PM EST2:37 PM VEN23:07 UAE2:07 PM CT-Moore lost his no-hit bid with two outs in the ninth inning on a soft, clean single by Corey Seager, and the Giants beat the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-0 Thursday night. Moore earned his first win for the Giants since they got him in a trade with Tampa Bay on Aug. 1.
Analysis: Moore's try ended on his 133rd and final pitch - he missed most of the last two seasons after Tommy John surgery. He was immediately pulled after Seager's hit plopped onto the grass in shallow right field. Moore nearly gave San Francisco a major league record five straight years with a no-hitter. And he almost became the first Giants pitcher to no-hit the archrival Dodgers since 1915, when New York's Rube Marquard stopped Brooklyn.
Aug. 21 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Moore remained winless as a Giant after allowing three runs in five innings Saturday against the Mets, taking the loss in a third straight start.
Analysis: Moore had two solid outings to begin his San Francisco tenure but has been tagged for eight runs in 11 innings over his past two. He owns a 4.70 ERA since being acquired from Tampa Bay and issued a troubling 17 walks in 23 innings.
Aug. 16 11:12 AM PT12:12 PM MT1:12 PM CT2:12 PM ET14:12 ET18:12 GMT2:12 11:12 AM MST1:12 PM EST1:42 PM VEN22:12 UAE1:12 PM CT-Moore endured his worst performance in nearly two months Monday, when he allowed five runs, six hits and three walks in six innings against Pittsburgh.
Analysis: The right-hander had posted a 2.22 ERA in his previous eight outings. ''I'm capable of better things than what happened tonight,'' Moore said Monday after falling to 0-2 in three starts since being acquired from Tampa Bay.
Aug. 9 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Moore allowed two runs and three hits in six innings, striking out seven but walking five in the Giants' 2-0 loss to the Marlins on Tuesday.
Analysis: That's an almost identical line to his first start with the Giants, when he posted the exact same numbers with one more walk.
Aug. 5 9:31 PM PT10:31 PM MT11:31 PM CT12:31 AM ET0:31 ET4:31 GMT12:31 9:31 PM MST11:31 PM EST12:01 AM VEN8:31 UAE11:31 PM CT-On Thursday, Moore allowed two runs and three hits in six innings and walked six - matching his major league high - in his first start after being acquired by the Giants from Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Though Moore fanned seven, walks continue to hamper his cause with 10 in his last two contests.
Aug. 2 4:26 PM PT5:26 PM MT6:26 PM CT7:26 PM ET19:26 ET23:26 GMT7:26 4:26 PM MST6:26 PM EST6:56 PM VEN3:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Moore will make his first start with the Giants on Thursday against the Phillies.
Analysis: Moore, acquired Monday after going 7-7 with a 4.08 ERA in 21 starts for the Rays this season, has made one start against the Phillies. The left-hander allowed four runs in 4 2/3 innings of a 5-3 loss in Philadelphia in July 2015.
Aug. 1 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-A person with knowledge of the trade says the NL West-leading San Francisco Giants have acquired Moore from the Rays for third baseman Matt Duffy.
Analysis: The 27-year-old Moore is 7-7 with a 4.08 ERA in 21 starts and 130 innings. The Giants now have a reliable addition for the rotation to join Madison Bumgarner, Johnny Cueto and Jeff Samardzija, given the struggles of Matt Cain and Jake Peavy.
July 27 6:28 PM PT7:28 PM MT8:28 PM CT9:28 PM ET21:28 ET1:28 GMT9:28 6:28 PM MST8:28 PM EST8:58 PM VEN5:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Moore pitched four-hit ball into the seventh inning, allowing one unearned run, in the Rays' 3-1 win over the Dodgers on Wednesday.
Analysis: Moore performed admirably against the Dodgers, who are thought to be interested in several Tampa Bay starters with the trade deadline looming. He looked ready for a pennant race, striking out five and only allowing an unearned run. ''I'm here (with the Rays), and it doesn't feel like I'm going anywhere,'' said Moore, who also walked four.
July 22 12:23 PM PT1:23 PM MT2:23 PM CT3:23 PM ET15:23 ET19:23 GMT3:23 12:23 PM MST2:23 PM EST2:53 PM VEN23:23 UAE2:23 PM CT-Moore was sharp again in Thursday's win at Oakland, where he yielded three runs and four hits while striking out six over seven innings.
Analysis: All three runs came on Jake Smolinski's homer in the second inning. Considered a potential candidate to be moved at the trade deadline, Moore is increasing his value by going 3-2 with a 2.38 ERA over a stretch of five consecutive quality starts.
July 16 6:24 PM PT7:24 PM MT8:24 PM CT9:24 PM ET21:24 ET1:24 GMT9:24 6:24 PM MST8:24 PM EST8:54 PM VEN5:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Moore allowed two runs in a season-high 7 1/3 innings of Saturday's 2-1 loss to Baltimore.
Analysis: Though his team is struggling, Moore has a 2.00 ERA while splitting his last four starts.
July 9 6:16 PM PT7:16 PM MT8:16 PM CT9:16 PM ET21:16 ET1:16 GMT9:16 6:16 PM MST8:16 PM EST8:46 PM VEN5:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-Moore had a two-start win streak snapped after allowing four runs - two earned - over six innings in Saturday's loss at Boston.
Analysis: Moore has had his ups and downs in his first full season back from Tommy John surgery, but he's shown signs of progress by going 3-2 with a 2.52 ERA over his last six starts.
July 4 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-Moore had his second straight solid start Monday, allowing two runs over 6 2/3 innings to beat the Angels.
Analysis: The left-hander has won back-to-back outings behind a 1.32 ERA. Both came at home, where he's 4-0 with a 1.89 ERA in his last five starts.
June 30 9:09 PM PT10:09 PM MT11:09 PM CT12:09 AM ET0:09 ET4:09 GMT12:09 9:09 PM MST11:09 PM EST11:39 PM VEN8:09 UAE11:09 PM CT-Moore (4-5) allowed three singles, walked two and struck out five in seven innings to outperform David Price on Wednesday in a 4-0 home win over the Red Sox.
Analysis: Moore is 2-0 with an 0.90 ERA in his last three starts at Tropicana Field.
June 24 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-The Orioles got their first baserunner against Matt Moore (3-5) in the bottomg of the fifth inning Friday when they scored a run, then scored four times in the sixth.
Analysis: Moore is 0-2 with a 7.23 ERA in his last four road starts.
June 13 8:24 AM PT9:24 AM MT10:24 AM CT11:24 AM ET11:24 ET15:24 GMT23:24 8:24 AM MST10:24 AM EST10:54 AM VEN19:24 UAE10:24 AM CT-Moore pitched two-hit ball over seven innings - striking out 10 with one walk - to lead the Rays to their seventh win in nine games, 5-0 over the Astros on Sunday.
Analysis: Moore had a 7.17 ERA over his previous seven starts, so perhaps this will get the one-time top prospect headed back in the right direction.
June 8 9:32 PM PT10:32 PM MT11:32 PM CT12:32 AM ET0:32 ET4:32 GMT12:32 9:32 PM MST11:32 PM EST12:02 AM VEN8:32 UAE11:32 PM CT-On Tuesday in a loss to Arizona, Moore (2-4) went seven innings, allowing five runs on seven hits with a walk and three strikeouts.
Analysis: He is 1-1 with a 6.59 ERA in his last five starts.
May 29 8:25 AM PT9:25 AM MT10:25 AM CT11:25 AM ET11:25 ET15:25 GMT23:25 8:25 AM MST10:25 AM EST10:55 AM VEN19:25 UAE10:25 AM CT-Moore delivered his best start in a month to defeat the Yankees on Saturday.
Analysis: The left-hander struck out seven while allowing three runs over 6 2/3 innings to pick up his first win since April 17. Moore hadn't pitched more than five innings over his previous four starts and posted an ugly 8.53 ERA over that stretch.
Apr. 28 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Moore lost his second straight start Wednesday after going seven starts without a loss, dating to last season.
Analysis: Moore gave up three runs and three hits and struck out nine in seven innings.
Apr. 13 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Moore limited the Indians to a run and five hits in Tuesday's 5-1 victory.
Analysis: Moore didn't earn the win but is 2-0 with a 1.86 ERA in six starts dating to the end of last year.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 TB 1 0 0 - 0 3 1 0 9.1 9 3 3 1 3 0 15 1.29 2.89
2012 TB 11 11 0 - 0 31 31 0 177.1 158 85 75 18 81 5 175 1.35 3.81
2013 TB 17 4 0 - 0 27 27 1 150.1 119 58 55 14 76 1 143 1.30 3.29
2014 TB 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 10 3 3 1 5 0 6 1.50 2.70
2015 TB 3 4 0 - 0 12 12 0 63.0 74 40 38 9 23 1 46 1.54 5.43
2016 TB 7 7 0 - 0 21 21 0 130.0 125 62 59 20 40 0 109 1.27 4.08
2016 SF 1 3 0 - 0 5 5 0 31.2 18 12 12 2 20 0 29 1.20 3.41
2016 Tot 8 10 0 - 0 26 26 0 161.2 143 74 71 22 60 0 138 1.26 3.95
Career 40 31 0 - 0 101 99 1 571.2 513 263 245 65 248 7 523 1.33 3.86

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 TB 31 4 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 TB 27 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 TB 12 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 TB 21 7 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .286 .286 .286
2016 SF 5 9 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Tot 26 16 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .125 .125 .125
Career 101 23 0 2 0 0 0 1 0 8 0 0 .087 .087 .087

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 TB Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 10.0 3 1 1 1 3 0 8 0.90
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 10.0 3 1 1 1 3 0 8 0.90
2013 TB Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 6.1 9 8 7 0 3 1 7 9.95
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 6.1 9 8 7 0 3 1 7 9.95
Career 1 1 0 - 0 4 2 0 16.1 12 9 8 1 6 1 15 4.41


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1734 96 87 92.8 62.4
Curveball 662 86 77 81.4 23.82
Changeup 349 88 81 84.5 12.56
Cut Fastball 34 92 88 90.6 1.22

w10 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

© The Press Democrat |  Terms of Service |  Privacy Policy |  Discussion Policy |  RSS |  Advertising |  Sonoma Media Investments