MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#8
Justin Upton
AVG HR RBI
.247 30 86
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-2 / 205 NFBC ADP: 45.06
Position: LFBorn: 8/25/1987 Birthplace: Norfolk, Virginia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Diamondbacks (2005)


Latest News
Oct. 1 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Upton went 3 for 4 with a solo homer to help the Tigers to a crucial 6-2 victory at Atlanta on Friday.
Analysis: The onetime Brave continues to play a major role in Detroit's postseason push. Upton now has eight homers in his last 13 games and is batting .375 with 16 RBIs over that stretch.
Sep. 27 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Upton hit his 29th home run - a three-run shot - Tuesday in a 12-0 rout of Cleveland.
Analysis: Upton is 15 for 42 (.357) with seven homers and 15 RBIs in his last 11 games.
Sep. 25 5:27 PM PT6:27 PM MT7:27 PM CT8:27 PM ET20:27 ET0:27 GMT8:27 5:27 PM MST7:27 PM EST7:57 PM VEN4:27 UAE (+1)7:27 PM CT-Upton homered for one of his three hits Sunday.
Analysis: He is 13 for 36 with six home runs and 12 RBIs in his last nine games.
Sep. 24 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Upton homered Friday for the Tigers.
Analysis: Upton has five homers and 11 RBIs in his last seven games.
Sep. 23 9:48 PM PT10:48 PM MT11:48 PM CT12:48 AM ET0:48 ET4:48 GMT12:48 9:48 PM MST11:48 PM EST12:18 AM VEN8:48 UAE11:48 PM CT-Upton homered to help the Tigers win Thursday's doubleheader opener at Minnesota and finished the twin-bill 2 for 6 with three runs scored.
Analysis: Upton now has four homers and nine RBIs over his last six games and has really picked up his production during the stretch run. In 28 games since Aug. 21, he's amassed 13 homers and 33 RBIs to go along with a solid .276 average.
Sep. 13 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Upton was not in the lineup Tuesday because of a mild left calf strain.
Analysis: Manager Brad Ausmus is hopeful Upton will start Wednesday.
Sep. 12 6:19 PM PT7:19 PM MT8:19 PM CT9:19 PM ET21:19 ET1:19 GMT9:19 6:19 PM MST8:19 PM EST8:49 PM VEN5:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Upton exited Monday's game against Minnesota in the fourth inning due to a strained left calf. He's sitting out Tuesday.
Analysis: No word on the severity of the injury, but it would be a blow to the playoff-hopeful Tigers if Upton is forced to miss extensive time. He's been one of the team's hottest hitters down the stretch, entering Monday's contest with a .315 average, nine homers and 24 RBIs over his previous 20 games.
Sep. 7 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Upton's power surge continued Wednesday as he went 2 for 4 with a three-run homer.
Analysis: Upton has hit nine of his 22 homers in his last 16 games, a stretch during which he's 20 for 60 with 24 RBIs.
Sep. 6 7:18 AM PT8:18 AM MT9:18 AM CT10:18 AM ET10:18 ET14:18 GMT22:18 7:18 AM MST9:18 AM EST9:48 AM VEN18:18 UAE9:18 AM CT-Upton came through in the clutch for a second straight day to keep Detroit tied for the final AL playoff spot. Upton hit a three-run home run in the 11th inning and the Tigers beat the Chicago White Sox 5-3 on Monday for their 11th win in 14 games.
Analysis: Detroit's hot streak has coincided with Upton's tear. He has eight home runs in 14 games.
Sep. 4 8:51 PM PT9:51 PM MT10:51 PM CT11:51 PM ET23:51 ET3:51 GMT11:51 8:51 PM MST10:51 PM EST11:21 PM VEN7:51 UAE (+1)10:51 PM CT-Upton continued his late-season tear in Sunday's 6-5 win at Kansas City, in which he recorded an RBI double along with a go-ahead two-run homer in the eighth inning.
Analysis: Upton was hitting .236 with 13 home runs on Aug. 18. In 14 games since, the offseason pickup has belted seven homers, knocked in 18 runs and delivered a .346 average to help keep the Tigers in playoff contention.
Sep. 3 9:11 AM PT10:11 AM MT11:11 AM CT12:11 PM ET12:11 ET16:11 GMT0:11 9:11 AM MST11:11 AM EST11:41 AM VEN20:11 UAE11:11 AM CT-Upton came up big with two hits - including his 19th home run - in Friday's 7-6 win at Kansas City.
Analysis: Upton has turned things around of late, batting .364 with six home runs and 15 RBIs over his last 12 games.
Aug. 30 6:38 AM PT7:38 AM MT8:38 AM CT9:38 AM ET9:38 ET13:38 GMT21:38 6:38 AM MST8:38 AM EST9:08 AM VEN17:38 UAE8:38 AM CT-Upton's power surge continued Monday with a solo homer.
Analysis: He's gone deep five times in his last eight games and is batting .353 with 12 RBIs in his past nine contests.
Aug. 26 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)9:11 PM CT-Upton homered for the fourth time in five games Friday in a 4-2 win over the Angels.
Analysis: Upton was hitting .226 when manager Brad Ausmus held him out of the starting lineup for three days last week. Since returning on Saturday, he's batting .417 with seven extra-base hits and 11 RBIs in six games.
Aug. 25 9:14 PM PT10:14 PM MT11:14 PM CT12:14 AM ET0:14 ET4:14 GMT12:14 9:14 PM MST11:14 PM EST11:44 PM VEN8:14 UAE11:14 PM CT-Upton hit a three-run homer for one of his two hits Wednesday.
Analysis: He is 8 for 16 with three home runs and nine RBIs over a four-game stretch.
Aug. 21 4:58 PM PT5:58 PM MT6:58 PM CT7:58 PM ET19:58 ET23:58 GMT7:58 4:58 PM MST6:58 PM EST7:28 PM VEN3:58 UAE (+1)6:58 PM CT-Upton had his best game of the season Sunday, belting a pair of three-run homers in a 10-5 win over Boston.
Analysis: Upton entered Sunday in a 3-for-35 slump in his previous 10 games and his six RBIs matched his total from the previous 24 games.
Aug. 21 9:42 PM PT10:42 PM MT11:42 PM CT12:42 AM ET0:42 ET4:42 GMT12:42 9:42 PM MST11:42 PM EST12:12 AM VEN8:42 UAE11:42 PM CT-Upton had his first two-hit game since Aug. 4 in Saturday's 3-2 loss to Boston, missing a tying homer in the 9th inning by a matter of inches.
Analysis: Upton is 5 for 47 (.106) with no RBIs and 15 strikeouts in his last 14 games.
Aug. 17 9:29 AM PT10:29 AM MT11:29 AM CT12:29 PM ET12:29 ET16:29 GMT0:29 9:29 AM MST11:29 AM EST11:59 AM VEN20:29 UAE11:29 AM CT-Upton went hitless for a third consecutive game Tuesday.
Analysis: Upton is 2 for 33 with 10 strikeouts in eight games since being acquired from the Padres. He hasn't driven in a run in 14 games this month.
Aug. 11 11:04 AM PT12:04 PM MT1:04 PM CT2:04 PM ET14:04 ET18:04 GMT2:04 11:04 AM MST1:04 PM EST1:34 PM VEN22:04 UAE1:04 PM CT-Upton's slump continued Wednesday as he went 0 for 4 with two strikeouts.
Analysis: Upton is 2 for 23 in his last six games, grounding into four double plays, and has struck out twice in three straight.
July 31 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)4:40 PM CT-Upton went 2 for 4 with his 13th home run in Sunday's 11-0 victory over the Astros.
Analysis: Upton had one heck of a series. He went 5 for 11 with two homers and five RBIs in the three meetings.
July 30 9:40 PM PT10:40 PM MT11:40 PM CT12:40 AM ET0:40 ET4:40 GMT12:40 9:40 PM MST11:40 PM EST12:10 AM VEN8:40 UAE11:40 PM CT-Upton belted a three-run homer in Friday's win over the Astros.
Analysis: He is 6 for 14 in his last four home games.
July 14 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Upton homered for the game's only run in his return to the lineup Monday after he was activated from the bereavement/family medical emergency list.
Analysis: The home run was Upton's 10th of the season and 200th of his career.
July 9 6:28 PM PT7:28 PM MT8:28 PM CT9:28 PM ET21:28 ET1:28 GMT9:28 6:28 PM MST8:28 PM EST8:58 PM VEN5:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Upton went 2 for 4 with a run scored in Saturday's win at Toronto.
Analysis: The free-agent addition's bat has come to life some of late, as he's 8 for 25 with four extra-base hits and four RBIs over his last seven games. Upton's .235 average and nine home runs remain disappointing numbers, however.
July 5 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Upton had two hits Tuesday.
Analysis: He's hit safely in six of seven.
June 21 10:42 PM PT11:42 PM MT12:42 AM CT1:42 AM ET1:42 ET5:42 GMT13:42 10:42 PM MST12:42 AM EST1:12 AM VEN9:42 UAE12:42 AM CT-Upton hit a liner over the left-field wall in the 12th inning for his second homer of the game, lifting Detroit past the Seattle Mariners 8-7 on Monday night.
Analysis: Upton connected on a 2-2 pitch from Vidal Nuno (0-1) leading off the 12th. It was his first game-ending homer since 2013 with Atlanta against Washington.
June 15 9:39 AM PT10:39 AM MT11:39 AM CT12:39 PM ET12:39 ET16:39 GMT0:39 9:39 AM MST11:39 AM EST12:09 PM VEN20:39 UAE11:39 AM CT-Upton ended his recent slide with a triple, a double and four RBIs in Tuesday's 11-8 win over the White Sox.
Analysis: Upton had been 3 for 19 over his previous five games. He's been a bit of a disappointment this season, batting just .229 - his worst since his 2007 rookie season - with four home runs.
June 7 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Upton had two hits Tuesday.
Analysis: He is 6 for 12 in his last three games for the surging Tigers.
June 7 9:26 PM PT10:26 PM MT11:26 PM CT12:26 AM ET0:26 ET4:26 GMT12:26 9:26 PM MST11:26 PM EST11:56 PM VEN8:26 UAE11:26 PM CT-Upton hit a two-run homer and had three RBIs on Monday.
Analysis: He's 6 for 16 with six RBIs in the last four games.
May 24 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)4:40 PM CT-Upton remains out.
Analysis: The Detroit Tigers outfielder is dealing with tightness in his right quad.
May 2 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Upton went 3 for 4 with two runs scored in Sunday's win at Minnesota.
Analysis: Upton has finally got it going after a slow start to his debut season in Detroit. He also had three hits on Friday and socked a three-run homer in Saturday's 4-1 win over the Twins.
May 1 10:30 AM PT11:30 AM MT12:30 PM CT1:30 PM ET13:30 ET17:30 GMT1:30 10:30 AM MST12:30 PM EST1:00 PM VEN21:30 UAE12:30 PM CT-Upton hit a three-run dinger Saturday.
Analysis: Upton still has an awful .326 slugging percentage so he needs to improve his power stroke.
Apr. 30 12:24 PM PT1:24 PM MT2:24 PM CT3:24 PM ET15:24 ET19:24 GMT3:24 12:24 PM MST2:24 PM EST2:54 PM VEN23:24 UAE2:24 PM CT-Upton had three hits and scored a run in a 9-2 victory in Minnesota on Friday night.
Analysis: Upton, now batting .220, was 2 for 20 with nine strikeouts in his previous six games.
Apr. 13 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Upton was 4 for 5 with a home run in Tuesday's win over Pittsburgh.
Analysis: It was Upton's first home run with his new club and his first four-hit game since managing three in 2013.
Mar. 10 4:00 AM PT5:00 AM MT6:00 AM CT7:00 AM ET7:00 ET12:00 GMT20:00 5:00 AM MST7:00 AM EST7:30 AM VEN16:00 UAE6:00 AM CT-Upton is expected to be OK, a day after teammate Anthony Gose stepped on his left ankle going for a fly ball.
Analysis: Upton exited as a precautionary measure. Detroit next plays Philadelphia.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Ari 43 140 17 31 8 3 2 11 11 37 2 0 .221 .283 .364
2008 Ari 108 356 52 89 19 6 15 42 54 121 1 4 .250 .353 .463
2009 Ari 138 526 84 158 30 7 26 86 55 137 20 5 .300 .366 .532
2010 Ari 133 495 73 135 27 3 17 69 64 152 18 8 .273 .356 .442
2011 Ari 159 592 105 171 39 5 31 88 59 126 21 9 .289 .369 .529
2012 Ari 150 554 107 155 24 4 17 67 63 121 18 8 .280 .355 .430
2013 Atl 149 558 94 147 27 2 27 70 75 161 8 1 .263 .354 .464
2014 Atl 154 566 77 153 34 2 29 102 60 171 8 4 .270 .342 .491
2015 SD 150 542 85 136 26 3 26 81 68 159 19 5 .251 .336 .454
2016 Det 151 562 80 139 28 2 30 86 50 175 9 4 .247 .312 .464
Career 1335 4891 774 1314 262 37 220 702 559 1360 124 48 .269 .347 .472

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Ari Total 6 14 2 5 1 1 0 1 3 3 1 0 .357 .526 .571
    LDS 2 5 2 3 0 0 0 1 3 0 1 0 .600 .750 .600
    LCS 4 9 0 2 1 1 0 0 0 3 0 0 .222 .364 .556
2011 Ari Total 5 20 3 4 0 0 2 3 3 6 0 0 .200 .304 .500
    LDS 5 20 3 4 0 0 2 3 3 6 0 0 .200 .304 .500
2013 Atl Total 4 14 2 2 1 0 0 0 4 4 0 0 .143 .333 .214
    LDS 4 14 2 2 1 0 0 0 4 4 0 0 .143 .333 .214
Career 15 48 7 11 2 1 2 4 10 13 1 0 .229 .383 .438


w12 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

© The Press Democrat |  Terms of Service |  Privacy Policy |  Discussion Policy |  RSS |  Advertising |  Sonoma Media Investments